Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service June 2013 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey
Document Number: 2013-15046
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Shepherd's Purse From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-15045
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection in support of the regulations for the importation of shepherd's purse from the Republic of Korea into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Untreated Oranges, Tangerines, and Grapefruit From Mexico Transiting the United States to Foreign Countries
Document Number: 2013-15003
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the transit of untreated oranges, tangerines, and grapefruit from Mexico through the United States to foreign countries.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Export Health Certificate for Animal Products
Document Number: 2013-15002
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of animal products from the United States.
Consolidation of Permit Procedures; Denial and Revocation of Permits
Document Number: 2013-14638
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-06-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to consolidate the regulations concerning the issuance of permits for the importation and interstate movement of a wide variety of regulated plants, plant products, and other articles. We would also make corresponding changes to the regulations concerning permits for the importation and interstate movement of noxious weeds and the importation of honeybees and other beekeeping articles. We are also proposing to include new provisions in our regulations for the denial of a permit and the revocation of a permit once issued. These changes would make our permit procedures more transparent and easier to use, allow us to evaluate a permit application more quickly and thoroughly, and help us hold permittees accountable for complying with permit conditions.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Genetically Engineered for Herbicide and Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2013-14705
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a maize line developed by Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc., designated as maize event DP-[Oslash][Oslash]4114-3, which has been genetically engineered to be resistant to certain lepidopteran and coleopteran pests and to the herbicide glufosinate, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc., in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Availability of a Treatment Evaluation Document; Methyl Bromide Fumigation of Blueberries
Document Number: 2013-14468
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual an additional treatment schedule for methyl bromide fumigation of blueberries for Mediterranean fruit fly and South American fruit fly. We have prepared a treatment evaluation document that describes the new treatment schedule and explains why we have determined that it is effective at neutralizing these fruit flies. We are making the treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Plants for Planting
Document Number: 2013-14466
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of plants for planting.
Monsanto Co.; Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Herbicide Resistant Soybeans and Cotton, and Notice of Virtual Public Meetings
Document Number: 2013-13691
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice of intent to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) on environmental impacts that may result from the potential approval of petitions seeking a determination of nonregulated status of cultivars of dicamba herbicide resistant soybeans and cotton produced by the Monsanto Company. During the comment period, we are requesting public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues to be included in the EIS. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments. We are also announcing the dates of two virtual public meetings that we will be hosting to provide the public with additional opportunities to comment during the scoping period.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Unshu Oranges From Japan
Document Number: 2013-13690
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of Unshu oranges from Japan.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Mangoes From the Philippines
Document Number: 2013-13686
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of mangoes from the Philippines into the United States.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Herbicide Resistant Corn and Soybeans, and Notice of Virtual Public Meetings
Document Number: 2013-13685
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice of intent to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) on environmental impacts that may result from the potential approval of petitions seeking a determination of nonregulated status of three cultivars of herbicide resistant corn and soybeans produced by Dow AgroSciences LLC. During the comment period, we are requesting public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues to be included in the EIS. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments. We are also announcing the dates of two virtual public meetings that we will be hosting to provide the public with additional opportunities to comment during the scoping period.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Interstate Movement of Certain Land Tortoises
Document Number: 2013-13682
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of certain land tortoises.
National Poultry Improvement Plan; General Conference Committee Meeting
Document Number: 2013-13436
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplemental Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2013-13435
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplemental environmental assessment (EA) relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. The supplemental EA analyzes expanding the field trial for an experimental oral rabies vaccine for wildlife to additional areas in New York. The proposed field trial is necessary to evaluate whether the wildlife rabies vaccine will produce sufficient levels of population immunity against raccoon rabies. We are making the supplemental EA available to the public for review and comment.