Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service February 2013 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Dow AgroSciences LLC; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2013-04523
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Dow AgroSciences LLC (DAS) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as DAS-81419-2, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain lepidopteran pests. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the DAS petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Dicamba and Glufosinate Tolerant Cotton
Document Number: 2013-04522
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from the Monsanto Company (Monsanto) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of cotton designated as MON 88701, which has been genetically engineered for tolerance to the herbicides dicamba and glufosinate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Syngenta Seeds, Inc., and Bayer CropScience AG; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Tolerance
Document Number: 2013-04521
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Syngenta Seeds, Inc., and Bayer CropScience AG seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as event SYHTOH2, which has been genetically engineered for tolerance to the herbicides glufosinate and mesotrione. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Syngenta Seeds, Inc., and Bayer CropScience AG petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Stine Seed Farm, Inc.; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Environmental Assessment, and Preliminary Decision for an Extension of a Determination of Nonregulated Status of Corn Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Tolerance
Document Number: 2013-04520
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary decision regarding a request from Stine Seed Farm, Inc., to extend to maize line HCEM485, which has been genetically engineered to be tolerant to the herbicide glyphosate, our determination of nonregulated status of Roundup Ready[supreg] corn line GA21. We are seeking comment on whether this genetically engineered corn is likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and draft environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
ArborGen Inc.; Availability of Petition, Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Freeze Tolerant Eucalyptus Lines, and Notice of Virtual Public Meetings
Document Number: 2013-04519
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from ArborGen Inc. seeking a determination of nonregulated status of Freeze Tolerant Eucalyptus lines designated 427 and 435, which have been genetically engineered (GE) to be more tolerant of cold conditions. The incorporation of the GE trait allows these eucalyptus hybrid trees to be grown in a broader geographic area than non-GE eucalyptus hybrid trees. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain GE organisms and products. We are making available for public comment the ArborGen Inc. petition and are soliciting comments on whether these GE eucalyptus lines are likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are also announcing to the public our intent to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) on the action with regard to the petition for nonregulated status, identifying potential issues and alternatives that may be studied in the EIS, and requesting public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues. We are also announcing that APHIS will be hosting two virtual meetings during the comment period. The purpose of the meetings will be to further delineate the scope of alternatives and environmental impacts and issues discussed in the EIS.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Availability of Petition, Plant Pest Risk Assessment, and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Tolerance and Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2013-04518
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc., (Pioneer) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of maize designated as maize event DP-[Oslash][Oslash]4114-3, which has been genetically engineered to be resistant to certain lepidopteran and coleopteran pests and tolerant to the herbicide glufosinate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered maize is likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are making available for public comment the Pioneer petition, our plant pest risk assessment, and our draft environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Corn Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2013-04517
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a corn line developed by the Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., designated as event SYN-05307-1, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to corn rootworm, an insect pest of corn, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Spring Viremia of Carp; Import Restrictions on Certain Live Fish, Fertilized Eggs, and Gametes
Document Number: 2013-04496
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of live fish, fertilized eggs, and gametes to prevent the introduction of spring viremia of carp into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2013-04495
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of certain fruits and vegetables into the United States.
Sharing Certain Business Information Regarding the Introduction of Genetically Engineered Organisms With State and Tribal Government Agencies
Document Number: 2013-04478
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our regulations regarding genetically engineered organisms regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture by adding provisions for sharing certain business information with State and Tribal government agencies. The proposed provisions would govern the sharing of certain information contained in permit applications and notifications for importations, interstate movements, or releases into the environment of regulated articles. The procedures would allow the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) to share certain business information with State and Tribal governments without impairing our ability to protect confidential business information from disclosure. APHIS currently withholds such information when it shares applications with non-Federal Government agencies. This action would improve our collaborative and cooperative efforts with State and Tribal governments as well as improve the effectiveness of our notification and permitting procedures as APHIS continues to regulate certain genetically engineered organisms.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Strawberry Fruit From Egypt Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-04475
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh strawberry fruit from Egypt. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh strawberry fruit from Egypt.
Agency Information Collection Activities; OMB Approval Received
Document Number: 2013-03584
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act, this notice announces the Office of Management and Budget's approval of a collection of information contained in the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's final rule regarding the possession, use, and transfer of select agents and toxins.
Importation of Plants for Planting
Document Number: 2013-03058
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations on importing plants for planting to add Turkey to the list of countries from which the importation of restricted articles of Chrysanthemum spp., Leucanthemella serotina, and Nipponanthemum nipponicum into the United States is prohibited due to the presence of white rust of Chrysanthemum; to require permits for the importation of any seed that is coated, pelleted, or embedded in a substrate that obscures visibility; to provide for an alternate additional declaration on phytosanitary certificates that accompany articles imported from a country in which potato cyst nematodes are known to occur; to provide conditions for the importation of Prunus spp. articles from Canada that address the presence of plum pox potyvirus in that country; and to provide for the importation of Dianthus spp. (carnations) from the Netherlands. We are also proposing other changes to update and clarify the regulations and to improve their effectiveness. These changes are necessary to relieve restrictions that appear unnecessary, to update existing provisions, and to make the regulations easier to understand and implement.
Importation of Horses From Contagious Equine Metritis-Affected Countries
Document Number: 2013-03024
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-02-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with changes, an interim rule that amended the regulations regarding the importation of horses from countries affected with contagious equine metritis (CEM) by incorporating an additional certification requirement for imported horses 731 days of age or less and adding new testing protocols for test mares and imported stallions and mares more than 731 days of age. This document revises certain CEM-testing requirements for imported stallions and mares, and for test mares, that were amended in the interim rule. The interim rule was necessary to provide additional safeguards against the introduction of CEM through the importation of affected horses.
Texas (Splenetic) Fever in Cattle
Document Number: 2013-02784
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-02-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Texas (Splenetic) Fever regulations by updating the scientific names for the ticks that transmit the disease, listing additional names for the disease, and removing all products except coumaphos from the list of dips permitted for use on cattle in interstate movement. These actions are necessary to update and clarify the regulations.
Interstate Movement of Sharwil Avocados From Hawaii
Document Number: 2013-02781
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-02-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Hawaii quarantine regulations to allow the interstate movement of untreated Sharwil avocados from Hawaii into the continental United States. As a condition of movement, Sharwil avocados from Hawaii would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for registration and monitoring of places of production and packinghouses, an orchard trapping program, grove sanitation, limits on harvest periods and distribution areas, and harvesting and packing requirements to ensure that only intact fruit that have been protected against infestation are shipped. This action would allow for the interstate movement of Sharwil avocados from Hawaii into other States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Litchi, Longan, and Rambutan From the Philippines Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-02776
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of fresh litchi, longan, and rambutan fruit from the Philippines. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh fruit of litchi, longan, and rambutan from the Philippines.
Importation of Fresh Bananas From the Philippines into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-02775
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-02-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh bananas from the Philippines into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the bananas will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that will include requirements for importation of commercial consignments, monitoring of fruit flies to establish low- prevalence places of production, harvesting only of hard green bananas, and inspection for quarantine pests by the national plant protection organization of the Philippines. The bananas will also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that they were grown, packed, and inspected and found to be free of quarantine pests in accordance with the proposed requirements. This action will allow the importation of bananas from the Philippines while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Availability of a Swine Brucellosis and Pseudorabies Proposed Action Plan
Document Number: 2013-02772
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are making a proposed action plan describing a potential new approach to managing swine brucellosis and pseudorabies available for public review and comment. Swine brucellosis and pseudorabies have been eliminated from commercial swine herds within the United States, but potential sources of introduction of these diseases exist and we believe program modifications are necessary to address these risks. The proposed action plan presents our current thinking about the program modifications that we are considering.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Certification Program for Imported Articles of Pelargonium spp. and Solanum spp. to Prevent the Introduction of Potato Brown Rot
Document Number: 2013-02355
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for a certification program for imported articles of Pelargonium spp. and Solanum spp. to prevent the introduction of potato brown rot into the United States.