Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service September 2014 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Monsanto Co.; Draft Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Herbicide Resistant Soybeans and Cotton; Comment Period
Document Number: 2014-23180
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-09-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The comment period for a draft environmental impact statement (EIS) on environmental impacts that may result from the potential approval of petitions seeking a determination of nonregulated status of cultivars of dicamba herbicide resistant soybeans and cotton produced by the Monsanto Company will remain open until October 10, 2014. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2014-22887
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-09-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture has renewed the charter of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (Committee) for a 2-year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Herbicide Resistant Corn and Soybeans
Document Number: 2014-22409
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-09-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that three varieties of herbicide resistant corn and soybeans produced by Dow AgroSciences LLC are no longer considered regulated articles under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Dow AgroSciences LLC in its three petitions for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of publically available scientific data, and comments received from the public on the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental impact statement and plant pest risk assessments. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and record of decision.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Standard Requirements; Addition of Terminology To Define Veterinary Biologics Test Results
Document Number: 2014-22294
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-09-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the veterinary biological product regulations by defining the terms used for reporting the results of tests performed on veterinary biological products. Licensees and permittees of veterinary biological products must conduct these tests and report the results to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service so that the Agency can determine if the products are eligible for release. Defining these terms will clarify the circumstances under which the results of a prescribed test can be reported as satisfactory, unsatisfactory, inconclusive, or a No Test. We are also removing several obsolete testing standard requirements from the regulations. These changes will update our regulations and improve communication between regulators and product licensees and permittees with respect to reporting test results.
Importation of Mangoes From Jamaica Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-22290
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-09-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of mangoes from Jamaica into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the mangoes must be produced in accordance with a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures for certain fruit flies, soft scale insects, and diseases and must be inspected prior to exportation from Jamaica and found free of these pests and diseases. The mangoes must be imported in commercial consignments only and be treated to mitigate the risk of fruit flies. The mangoes must also be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate. This action will allow the importation of mangoes from Jamaica while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Field Release of Diaphorencyrtus aligarhensis for the Biological Control of Asian Citrus Psyllid in the Contiguous United States; Availability of an Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2014-22288
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-09-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a draft environmental assessment has been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the proposed release of Diaphorencyrtus aligarhensis for the biological control of the Asian citrus psyllid, Diaphorina citri, in the contiguous United States. We are making this environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Trichinae Certification Program
Document Number: 2014-22256
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-09-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the voluntary Trichinae Certification Program to enhance the ability of U.S. pork producers to export pork and pork products to overseas markets.
Bovine Tuberculosis Status of Michigan; Advance Counties From Modified Accredited Advanced to Accredited-Free
Document Number: 2014-21583
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-09-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the bovine tuberculosis regulations to advance the status of Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, Otsego, and Presque Isle Counties in Michigan from modified accredited advanced to accredited-free. We have determined that these counties meet the criteria for accredited-free status. This action relieves certain restrictions on the interstate movement of cattle and bison from these areas of Michigan.
Establishing a Performance Standard for Authorizing the Importation and Interstate Movement of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2014-21406
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-09-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our regulations governing the importations of fruits and vegetables by broadening our existing performance standard to provide for approval of all new fruits and vegetables for importation into the United States using a notice-based process. We are also proposing to remove the region- or commodity- specific phytosanitary requirements currently found in these regulations. Likewise, we are proposing an equivalent revision of the performance standard in our regulations governing the interstate movements of fruits and vegetables from Hawaii and the U.S. territories (Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) and the removal of commodity-specific phytosanitary requirements from those regulations. This proposal would allow for the approval of requests to authorize the importation or interstate movement of new fruits and vegetables in a manner that enables a more flexible and responsive regulatory approach to evolving pest situations in both the United States and exporting countries. It would not however, alter the science-based process in which the risk associated with importation or interstate movement of a given fruit or vegetable is evaluated or the manner in which risks associated with the importation or interstate movement of a fruit or vegetable are mitigated.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Control of Chronic Wasting Disease
Document Number: 2014-21115
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-09-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the control of chronic wasting disease in farmed or captive cervid herds.
Importation of Litchi and Longan Fruit From Vietnam Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-21113
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-09-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of litchi and longan fruit from Vietnam into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, litchi and longan fruit from Vietnam will be subject to a systems approach that includes requirements for treatment and inspection and restrictions on the distribution of the fruit. This action will allow for the importation of litchi and longan fruit from Vietnam into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.