Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service July 2014 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: C1-2014-16037
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Importation of Fresh Blueberries From Morocco Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-17843
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh blueberries from Morocco into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the blueberries must be produced under a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures for two quarantine pests, Ceratitis capitata and Monilinia fructigena, and must be inspected prior to exportation from Morocco and found free of these pests. The blueberries may be imported in commercial consignments only and must be treated with one of two approved postharvest treatments to mitigate C. capitata. The blueberries will have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the conditions for importation have been met. This action will allow the importation of blueberries from Morocco while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Restrictions on the Importation of Fresh Pork and Pork Products From a Region in Mexico
Document Number: 2014-17886
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products to define a low-risk classical swine fever region in Mexico from which we would allow the importation of fresh pork and pork products under certain conditions. Under this proposed rule, such pork and pork products would have to be derived from swine raised on farms meeting stringent sanitary and biosecurity requirements. We would also provide safeguards against commingling of the swine and the pork and pork products with animals and products that do not meet our proposed requirements. Establishments that slaughter the swine from which the pork or pork products are derived would have to allow periodic inspection and evaluation of their facilities, records, and operations by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. This proposed rule would relieve some restrictions on the importation of pork and pork products from Mexico while continuing to protect against the introduction of classical swine fever into the United States.
Importation of Two Hybrids of Unshu Orange From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-17885
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of citrus fruit to allow the importation of commercial consignments of two Unshu orange hybrids from the Republic of Korea into the continental United States. These hybrids would be eligible for importation into the continental United States subject to the existing conditions for the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea. We would also make one minor change to the existing regulations by adding an explicit statement that only commercial consignments of Unshu oranges would be eligible for importation into the continental United States. The proposed changes would remove the prohibition on the importation of Unshu orange hybrids that can safely enter the United States, provided that certain conditions are met, and would codify an existing requirement.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Commercial Transportation of Equines for Slaughter
Document Number: 2014-17884
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the commercial transportation of equines to slaughtering facilities.
Approved Tests for Bovine Tuberculosis in Cervids
Document Number: 2014-17877
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations regarding official tuberculosis tests for captive cervids to remove the CervidTB Stat- Pak[supreg] as an official bovine tuberculosis test for the following species of captive cervids: Elk, red deer, white-tailed deer, fallow deer, and reindeer. We are also amending the regulations to specify that the Dual Path Platform (DPP)[supreg] test, which was previously a supplemental test to be used in conjunction with the CervidTB Stat- Pak[supreg], is now considered a primary test, as well. We are taking this action because the CervidTB Stat-Pak[supreg] is no longer being produced, and because we have determined that the DPP[supreg] test can reliably be used as a primary test for bovine tuberculosis in certain species of captive cervids. This action is necessary on an immediate basis so that the regulations do not continue to authorize usage of a discontinued test, yet still provide regulated entities with options in order to meet the testing requirements for captive cervids within the regulations.
Sharing Certain Business Information Regarding the Introduction of Genetically Engineered Organisms With State and Tribal Government Agencies
Document Number: 2014-16927
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule that would have amended the regulations regarding genetically engineered organisms regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture by adding provisions for sharing certain business information with State and Tribal government agencies. We have decided to withdraw the proposed rule to ensure that our ability to protect confidential business information from disclosure is maintained.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Areas in New Jersey
Document Number: 2014-16924
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by removing portions of Middlesex and Union Counties, NJ, from the list of quarantined areas based on our determination that those areas meet our criteria for removal. The interim rule was necessary to relieve restrictions that are no longer necessary because there are no longer any areas in New Jersey that are quarantined because of Asian longhorned beetle.
Importation of Apples From China
Document Number: 2014-16923
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of fresh apples (Malus pumila) from China into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, apples from areas in China in which the Oriental fruit fly (Bactrocera dorsalis) is not known to exist would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for registration of places of production and packinghouses, inspection for quarantine pests at set intervals by the national plant protection organization of China, bagging of fruit, safeguarding, labeling, and importation in commercial consignments. Apples from areas in China in which Oriental fruit fly is known to exist could be imported into the continental United States if, in addition to these requirements, the apples are treated with fumigation plus refrigeration. All apples from China would also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that all conditions for the importation of the apples have been met and that the consignment of apples has been inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action would allow for the importation of apples from China into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Cattle Fever Tick; Importation Requirements for Ruminants From Mexico
Document Number: 2014-16783
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to recognize the State of Sonora as a region in Mexico that is free of fever ticks. We would also establish an exemption from acaricide dipping treatment requirements, and the documentation requirements associated with such dipping, that are currently applicable to cattle and other ruminants originating from Sonora as a condition of eligibility for entry to the United States, provided that certain conditions are met. This proposed action would remove restrictions on the importation of cattle and other ruminants from Sonora that we believe are no longer necessary and reduce the costs associated with tick dipping for exporters and importers of ruminants.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Tomatoes From Spain, Chile, France, Morocco, and Western Sahara
Document Number: 2014-16531
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of tomatoes from Spain, Chile, France, Morocco, and Western Sahara.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2014-16037
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP, the Plan) and its auxiliary provisions by removing the descriptions of specific tests and sanitation procedures from the regulations. Instead, we will require tests to be performed and sanitation to be maintained in a manner approved by the Administrator. Approved procedures will be listed in an NPIP Program Standards document, which we are making available on the NPIP Web site. In addition, we are establishing new compartment classifications for defined subpopulations of primary breeding turkeys, primary egg-type chickens, and primary meat-type chickens. We are also providing new or modified sampling and testing procedures for Plan participants and participating flocks. The changes in this final rule were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the Plan's 2010 and 2012 National Plan Conferences. These changes will streamline the provisions of the Plan, keep those provisions current with changes in the poultry industry, and provide for the use of new sampling and testing procedures.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analyses for the Importation of Chipilin Leaves and Edible Flowers of Chufle, Izote, and Pacaya From Guatemala Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-15866
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared pest risk analyses that evaluate the risks associated with importation of chipilin leaves and edible flowers of chufle, izote, and pacaya from Guatemala into the continental United States. Based on these analyses, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the movement of chipilin leaves and edible flowers of chufle, izote, and pacaya from Guatemala. We are making these documents available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Pork and Poultry Products From Mexico Transiting the United States
Document Number: 2014-15863
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for pork and poultry products from Mexico transiting the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2014-15751
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Equine 2015 Study
Document Number: 2014-15749
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a reinstatement of an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System's Equine 2015 Study to support the equine industry in the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Used Farm Equipment From Regions Affected With Foot-and-Mouth Disease
Document Number: 2014-15494
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of used farm equipment into the United States from regions affected with foot-and-mouth disease.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: 2014-15480
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule to amend the user fee regulations by adding new fee categories and adjusting current fees charged for certain agricultural quarantine and inspection services that are provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.