Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service April 2014 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program and Interstate Movement of Farmed or Captive Deer, Elk, and Moose
Document Number: 2014-09714
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-04-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with two miscellaneous changes, an interim final rule that established a herd certification program to control chronic wasting disease (CWD) in farmed or captive cervids in the United States. The interim final rule specifically requested comment on our policy that our CWD regulations set minimum requirements for the interstate movement of farmed or captive deer, elk, and moose but will not preempt State or local laws or regulations that are more restrictive than our regulations. This document responds to comments we received on that policy. The interim final rule was necessary to help to control the incidence of CWD in farmed or captive cervid herds and prevent its spread.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: 2014-09466
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the user fee regulations by adding new fee categories and adjusting current fees charged for certain agricultural quarantine and inspection services that are provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States. We are also proposing to adjust or remove the fee caps associated with commercial trucks, commercial vessels, and commercial railcars. We have determined that revised user fee categories and revised user fees are necessary to recover the costs of the current level of activity, to account for actual and projected increases in the cost of doing business, and to more accurately align fees with the costs associated with each fee service.
Fee Increases for Overtime Services
Document Number: 2014-09463
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to change the hourly rates charged for Sundays, holidays, or other overtime work performed by employees of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) for any person, firm, or corporation having ownership, custody, or control of regulated commodities or articles subject to inspection, laboratory testing, certification, or quarantine under the regulations. We are proposing to increase these overtime rates for each of the fiscal years 2014 through 2018 to reflect the anticipated costs associated with providing these services during each year. Establishing the overtime rate changes in advance would allow users of APHIS' services to incorporate the rates into their budget planning. We are also proposing to clarify the regulations to indicate that agricultural inspections performed by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) may be billed in accordance with DHS overtime regulations for services performed outside of regular business hours, as DHS rates may differ from those charged by APHIS.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Single Label Claim for Veterinary Biological Products
Document Number: 2014-08995
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations to provide for the use of a simpler labeling format that would better communicate product performance to the user. We intend to replace the current label format, which reflects any of four different levels of effectiveness, with a single, uniform label format. We are also proposing to require biologics licensees to provide a standardized summary, with confidential business information removed, of the efficacy and safety data submitted to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service in support of the issuance of a full product license or conditional license. A simpler label format along with publicly available safety and efficacy data will help biologics producers to more clearly communicate product performance to their customers.
Pine Shoot Beetle; Addition of Quarantined Areas and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2014-08722
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-04-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the pine shoot beetle regulations by adding areas in the States of Illinois, Maryland, Missouri, New York, and Virginia and the States of Indiana and New Jersey in their entirety to the list of quarantined areas. We are taking this action following the detection of pine shoot beetle in those areas. In addition, we are updating the list of regulated articles. These actions are necessary to prevent the spread of pine shoot beetle, a pest of pine trees, into noninfested areas of the United States.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Areas in Ohio
Document Number: 2014-08720
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-04-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by adding a portion of Clermont County, OH, to the list of quarantined areas and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from that area. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States.
Importation of Mangoes From Jamaica Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-08480
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh mangoes from Jamaica into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the mangoes would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures for certain fruit flies, soft scale insects, and diseases and would have to be inspected prior to exportation from Jamaica and found free of these pests and diseases. The mangoes would have to be imported in commercial consignments only and would have to be treated to mitigate the risk of fruit flies. The mangoes would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate. This action would allow the importation of mangoes from Jamaica while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Consolidation of Permit Procedures; Denial and Revocation of Permits
Document Number: 2014-08095
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-04-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are consolidating the regulations concerning the issuance of permits for the importation and interstate movement of a wide variety of regulated plants, plant products, and other articles. We are also making corresponding changes to the regulations concerning permits for the importation and interstate movement of noxious weeds and the importation of honeybees and other beekeeping articles. The regulations will also include new provisions for the denial of a permit and the revocation of a permit once issued. These changes will make our permit procedures more transparent and easier to use, allow us to evaluate a permit application more quickly and thoroughly, and help us hold permittees accountable for complying with permit conditions.
Expansion of Areas in the Philippines Considered Free of Mango Seed Weevil and Mango Pulp Weevil and Establishment of a Lower Irradiation Dose as a Treatment for Mango Pulp Weevil
Document Number: 2014-08020
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the list of designated pest-free areas for mango seed weevil and mango pulp weevil within the Philippines. We are also advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to amend the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual to establish a specific approved dose of irradiation as an authorized treatment for mango pulp weevil. These actions are necessary because surveys have determined that additional areas within the Philippines are free of mango seed weevil and mango pulp weevil. Additionally, we have determined that the mango pulp weevil can be neutralized with a lower dose of irradiation than the current generic dose for most plant pests of the class Insecta.
Importation of Fresh Unshu Oranges From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2014-08019
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of citrus fruit to remove certain restrictions on the importation of Unshu oranges from Japan that are no longer necessary. Specifically, we propose to remove requirements for the fruit to be grown in specified canker-free export areas with buffer zones and for joint inspection in the groves and packinghouses by the Government of the Republic of Japan and the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. We would also clarify that surface sterilization of the fruit must be conducted in accordance with our regulations. Finally, we would require that each shipment be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate containing an additional declaration stating that the fruit was given the required surface sterilization. These proposed changes would make the regulations concerning the importation of Unshu oranges from Japan consistent with our domestic regulations concerning the interstate movement of citrus fruit from areas quarantined because of citrus canker.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Reestablishment
Document Number: 2014-07849
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-04-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture will reestablish the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee for a 2- year period. The Secretary has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan and 42nd Biennial Conference
Document Number: 2014-07847
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-04-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) and the NPIP's 42nd Biennial Conference.