Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service March 2014 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Availability of Treatment Evaluation Documents for Various Plant Commodities
Document Number: 2014-06948
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual treatment schedules for various plant commodities. We have prepared four treatment evaluation documents that describe the new treatment schedules and explain why we have determined that they are effective at neutralizing certain target pests. We are making these treatment evaluation documents available to the public for review and comment.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Areas in New Jersey
Document Number: 2014-06947
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-03-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by removing portions of Middlesex and Union Counties, NJ, from the list of quarantined areas based on our determination that those areas meet our criteria for removal. This action is necessary to relieve restrictions that are no longer necessary. With this change, there are no longer any areas in New Jersey that are quarantined because of Asian longhorned beetle.
Importation of Potatoes From Mexico
Document Number: 2014-06619
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-03-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh potatoes (Solanum tuberosum L.) from Mexico into the United States. As a condition of entry, the potatoes must be produced in accordance with a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures to prevent the introduction and dissemination of plant pests into the United States. The potatoes must be imported in commercial consignments, must be produced by a grower who is registered in a certification program, must be packed in registered packinghouses, must be washed, cleaned, and treated with a sprout inhibitor, and must be inspected after packing for quarantine pests. The potatoes must also be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate that declares that the conditions for importation have been met. Finally, the national plant protection organization (NPPO) of Mexico must provide a bilateral workplan to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) that details the activities that the NPPO of Mexico will carry out to meet these requirements, subject to APHIS' approval. This action allows the importation of potatoes from Mexico while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Availability of Evaluations of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease and Rinderpest Status of a Region of Patagonia, Argentina
Document Number: 2014-06358
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice that announced our determination that a region of Argentina, consisting of the areas of Patagonia South and Patagonia North B, is free of foot- and-mouth disease. In that notice we also announced the availability of an evaluation assessing the rinderpest status of South America, which includes Argentina, and our determination, based on our evaluation, that rinderpest is not present in the entirety of Argentina. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Importation of Jackfruit, Pineapple, and Starfruit From Malaysia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-06017
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-03-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of fresh jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, all three commodities must be irradiated for insect pests, inspected, and imported in commercial consignments. There will also be additional, commodity-specific requirements for other pests associated with jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia. This action provides for the importation of jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
BASF Plant Sciences, LP; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Resistance to the Herbicide Imidazolinone
Document Number: 2014-06016
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean event developed by BASF Plant Sciences, LP designated as BPS-CV127-9, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to treatment with imidazolinone herbicides, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by BASF Plant Sciences, LP in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Cotton Genetically Engineered for Resistance to 2,4-D and Glufosinate
Document Number: 2014-06013
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Dow AgroSciences LLC (DAS) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of cotton designated as DAS-8191[Oslash]-7, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicides 2,4-D and glufosinate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the DAS petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; South American Cactus Moth; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: 2014-05349
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of South American cactus moth.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Genetically Engineered For Protection Against Corn Rootworm and Resistance to Glyphosate
Document Number: 2014-04968
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from the Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status of maize designated as event MON 87411, which has been genetically engineered for protection against corn rootworm and resistance to the herbicide glyphosate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto Company petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2014-04756
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from Dow AgroSciences LLC seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as event DAS-81419-2, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain lepidopteran pests. We are also making available for public review our plant pest risk assessment, environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.