Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service February 2014 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Importation of Beef From a Region in Brazil
Document Number: 2014-04308
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would allow, under certain conditions, the importation of fresh (chilled or frozen) beef from a region in Brazil (the States of Bahia, Distrito Federal, Espirito Santo, Goias, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Minas Gerais, Parana, Rio Grande do Sul, Rio de Janeiro, Rondonia, Sao Paulo, Sergipe, and Tocantins). This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Revision To and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Animal Disease Traceability
Document Number: 2014-04191
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the animal disease traceability framework.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Draft Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Herbicide Resistant Corn and Soybeans; Comment Period
Document Number: 2014-04188
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The comment period for a draft environmental impact statement (EIS) on environmental impacts that may result from the potential approval of petitions seeking a determination of nonregulated status of three cultivars of herbicide resistant corn and soybeans produced by Dow AgroSciences LLC will remain open until March 11, 2014. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: 2014-03843
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture is soliciting nominations for the election of regional membership, a member-at-large, and alternates to the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Hass Avocados From Michoacan, Mexico
Document Number: 2014-03691
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of Hass avocados from Michoacan, Mexico.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plants for Planting Regulations
Document Number: 2014-03690
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the plants for planting regulations.
Importation of Live Birds and Poultry, Poultry Meat, and Poultry Products From a Region in the European Union; Technical Amendment
Document Number: 2014-02768
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule published in the Federal Register on March 29, 2013, and effective on April 15, 2013, we amended the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products by recognizing 25 Member States of the European Union (EU) as the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS)-defined EU Poultry Trade Region. In that rule, we established requirements for the importation of live birds and poultry, and poultry meat and products, from the APHIS- defined EU Poultry Trade Region. In the final rule, it was not our intent to prohibit the importation of birds, poultry, and poultry meat and products from Member States of the APHIS-defined EU Poultry Trade Region that conduct trade in poultry and poultry products with other regions that APHIS recognizes as being free of Newcastle disease and highly pathogenic avian influenza. It was also not our intent that the import requirements for cooked poultry meat and products from the APHIS- defined EU Poultry Trade Region not be equivalent with the requirements we apply to other regions whenever an outbreak of Newcastle disease or highly pathogenic avian influenza occurs in those regions. This document amends the regulations to reflect our original intentions.
Response to Petitions for the Reclassification of Light Brown Apple Moth as a Non-Quarantine Pest
Document Number: 2014-02764
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public of our decision to maintain our classification of the light brown apple moth (LBAM, Epiphyas postvittana [Walker]) as a quarantine pest. In making this decision, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) evaluated the possibility of and impact from reclassifying LBAM from an actionable, quarantine-significant pest to a non-actionable, non-quarantine pest. By maintaining a regulatory program for LBAM, APHIS is seeking to minimize the further spread of the moth in the United States and maintain foreign trade markets for our producers. This decision is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the two petitioners seeking the reclassification of LBAM, our analysis of other scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of our revised draft response to those petitions.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Laboratory Network Laboratories Annual Inventory Verification for USDA-Owned Equipment
Document Number: 2014-02762
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the National Animal Health Laboratory Network laboratories annual inventory verification for U.S. Department of Agriculture-owned equipment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Johne's Disease
Document Number: 2014-02761
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the interstate movement of animals affected with Johne's disease.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories Request Forms
Document Number: 2014-02760
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection concerning the National Veterinary Services Laboratories request forms.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Laboratory Network Qualification Checklist for Membership
Document Number: 2014-02759
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the National Animal Health Laboratory Network qualification checklist for membership.
Notice of Availability of a Treatment Evaluation Document for Heat Treatment for Asian Longhorned Beetle
Document Number: 2014-02758
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to add a treatment schedule for Asian longhorned beetle in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual. Thus, we have prepared a treatment evaluation document that discusses the existing treatment schedule and explains why this change is necessary. We are making this treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Blood and Tissue Collection at Slaughtering and Rendering Establishments
Document Number: 2014-02757
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for blood and tissue collection at slaughtering and rendering establishments to enhance animal disease surveillance.
Petition To Promulgate Standards for Bears Under the Animal Welfare Act Regulations
Document Number: 2014-02756
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a petition requesting that we amend the Animal Welfare Act regulations to add specific standards for the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of all species of bears held in captivity except polar bears, for which there are already standards. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Quarantine Services and Facilities; Public Meeting
Document Number: 2014-02452
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service will host a series of public meetings to provide a forum for discussion on the current and future capacity for live animal import quarantines.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2014-02274
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing a Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome Vaccine, Respiratory Form, Modified Live Virus
Document Number: 2014-02273
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome Vaccine, Respiratory Form, Modified Live Virus. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.